Cinnamon Shortbread Christmas Cookies

IMG_9649[1].JPG

hello everyone!

I hope that you’ve had a wonderful Monday, as I’ve been in such an amazing mood today and it feels as though only positive thoughts have crossed my mind throughout the day *mega YAY*. With Christmas fast approaching us, I thought that I would get in early with, what I would call, the yummiest and most moreish Christmas cookies that I’ve ever made/tasted. I found a recipe quite similar to this on Taste, which I find is the best place for all things baking and Christmas-y of course! You could decorate these cookies however you want, which I think is the beauty of something like this. I just chose to sprinkle them with blitzed up candy canes 5 minutes before they were finished cooking in the oven. A light dusting with icing sugar is also a great option!Ā  Eek… let’s just start with the Christmas cookie recipe first though!

j

IMG_9615[2].JPG

IMG_9640[1].JPG

IMG_9628[1]

IMG_9644[1]

Capture

225g salt-reduced butter

1/2 cup caster sugar

1 1/2 cups plain flour (I used wholemeal as that was all we had šŸ™‚

2/3 cup rice flour (I used this amount of plain rice, then blended that in the thermomix to make “rice flour”)

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon (give or take, if you’re a cinnamon lover like myself than a little bit more works a treat!)

small pinch of salt

your choice of topping (I dusted icing sugar on some and crushed candy canes on others)

ghj

  1. Preheat your oven to 190 degrees Celsius and line 2 shallow tins with baking paper.
  2. Blitz the butter and sugar in a food processor until creamy and pale in appearance.
  3. Sift over both flours, the cinnamon and salt and further blitz until the mixture just comes together.
  4. Lightly knead on a floured surface, until a soft dough forms. Beware that at this stage it will be quite crumbly, so persistence is key!
  5. Place in your fridge, covered with glad wrap, for around 30 minutes or so.
  6. Once this time has passed, roll your dough onto a lightly floured surface, until it is around 2mm thick, which is very thin (making the cookies even more crunchy šŸ™‚
  7. Using any cookie cutters of your choice, cut out your dough and place onto the prepared baking trays.
  8. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes, if you’re planning on sprinkling crushed up candy cane, add this onto your cookies when they have around 5 minutes of baking time left.
  9. Leave to cool, serving them with icing sugar and a nice cup of hot chocolate!

I hope you try this recipe and enjoy it as much as I did! Let’s get ready and excited for the festive season.

love jasxx

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Shortbread Christmas Cookies

Leave a Reply

