Marshmallow-Iced Gingerbread Cake

IMG_9777hello everyone!

I hope you’re having an enjoyable day and that you haven’t been too busy with preparing for Christmas that you’ve forgotten to enjoy the simple things – like spending time with family and laughing (in my case… a lot!) I’ve had a lovely day, in which I’ve spent lots of time with my parents, cousins, aunty, uncle and brother! It truly has been one of the greatest days so far these holidays. I absolutely love to bake, as you’ve probably been able to tell by reading through my blog. I just find it so therapeutic and easy to experiment with whatever I want, as well as however I want. With Christmas day, what… only 4 days from now *all that OMG, squeals, shouts, much excite*, I’ve been feeling oh so very festive and constantly in a baking sort of mood. I stumbled across this lovely Gingerbread Recipe not too long ago and I planned to make it sometime in December. So finally I made something based on it today and decided to pair it with this Marshmallow frosting, creating a beautiful flavour mix and resemblance of snow! The spiced cookies on top are my rendition of a basic cookie dough mixed with all those festive kind of flavours in the cinnamon, ginger and cloves. I hope you are enjoying the festive season and be sure to send my/tag me in any pictures of baking inspiration in general, I’d love to see!! Oh… and please ignore the open and messy cupboard in one of the photos…!

IMG_9784

IMG_9775

IMG_9753

IMG_9760

IMG_9769

IMG_9776

IMG_9763

IMG_9767

sdfghjkil

you

1 and a 1/2 cups of plain flour

1 teaspoon bi-carb soda

A pinch of salt

2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves (I only had whole cloves, so I blitzed it up in the thermomix and wo-la… GROUND cloves!!!)

4 tablespoons of butter

2/3 cup dark brown sugar

1/3 cup molasses

1/3 cup golden syrup

2/3 cup boiling water

1 large egg

icing

4 egg whites

1 cup of castor sugar

¼ teaspoon cream of tartar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

cook

125g of softened butter

½ cup of brown sugar

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

1 egg

2 cups plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon milk

2 teaspoons cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground ginger

½ teaspoon ground cloves

wha

nm

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C and grease a round cake tin with cooking spray
  2. Whisk together your dry ingredients in a medium glass bowl, so that’s your flour, bi-carb soda, salt, ginger, cinnamon and cloves.
  3. Next, whisk the butter, brown sugar, molasses, golden syrup and boiling water until the butter is completely melted. This shouldn’t take very long. Wait 10 minutes for the mixture to cool slightly and then whisk in the egg. This waiting ensures the egg doesn’t scramble!
  4. Pour the dry ingredients into the wet and whisk until it is free of lumps and just combined. Pour the batter into the tin and bake for 35 minutes. Let cool for an hour or so before icing.

icing

  1. Whilst the cake is cooling, let’s work on the icing. The way you go about this will vary with what sort of mixing machine you have. I don’t have a KitchenAid or a mix master, so I used our Thermomix and it worked a treat. Just like with Pavlova, you could use a hand mixer but be prepared for very sore arms!!
  2. When using a Thermomix, place the butterfly into it and add the egg whites. On speed 3, 50°C for 3 minutes mix the eggs until a soft peak forms. Then, add the sugar and mix for another 3 minutes on speed 3, 50°C or until it resembles that of a meringue mixture – a nice and stiff peak being formed.
  3. Tip onto cooled cake and roughly style so that it resembles snow! This step is optional, but you could place it back in the oven for 5-10 minutes to make the outside all golden and lovely. Stick the cookies in or decorate however you please!

cook

  1. Preheat your oven to 180°C and line 2 baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Beat the butter, sugar and vanilla in a medium glass bowl using an electric mixer until it looks pale and creamy (& yummy might I add). Add the egg and further mixed until combined. Sift over the flour and baking powder, as well as adding the milk and stirring until just combined.
  3. Add your spices and transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface. Knead until pleasant looking and a nice consistency.
  4. Using a cookie cutter of your choice, cut the cookies and place them on the baking tray, allowing a small amount of room for spreading.
  5. Bake for around 16 minutes, give or take a few depending on your oven.
  6. Let cool and place on the “snow”, then serve your finished cake to any guests, or yourself because that’s totally okay too!!

 

I hope you enjoyed this blog post as it’s probably my favourite that I’ve done so far! Here’s to a very merry Christmas and precious moments spent with family and friends.

Merry Christmas everyone!

love jasxx

Leave a Reply

